RSS

Back to School already????

21 Jul

…well not quite yet. My kids still have about 50 days til school starts, and as much as I don’t want to think about it…I did mention in my last post that I AM a planner. I like to make informed decisions and not running-around-with-my-head-cut-off-last-minute decisions. I try to be earth friendly in all my choices. Companies have been making it easier to choose “eco-friendly” items. Though, it is hard to tell just HOW eco-friendly these items are. I mean, come on, even if they are completely recycleable, and recycled, how can it be really eco-friendly when it is made in China and distributed here in Northern Michigan??? How is it made? Where is made? What is it made out of? Those are just some of the questions I have about “eco-friendly-ness”. Unfortunately there is a whole bunch of items made in China, that claim to be eco-friendly. I plan to showcase a bunch of items from now until school starts, and I will tell you just where they are made, and what makes them eco-friendly! Then, I would like to do a giveaway of some of those supplies. How about it???? The first item I have to show is… Ecojot. I love their folders and notebooks. They are great. I was able to pick some up at Target last year, but you can check them out at ecojot.comecojotnotebooknaturalecojotnotebooks 

The ecojot website states that their products are made out of 100% recycled paper, and their inks and glues are all vegetable based which means they are biodegradeable. From what I can tell on their website, the product hails from Canada. All of their products are incredibly cute.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 21, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Back to School already????

  1. Ecojotter

    July 22, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    Hi lifefullofwhimsy! Wow, thanks for the mention 🙂 Especially as a Back to School plug. Ecojot is very conscious of how often companies claim to be green, but at the end are simply “green-washing” the public because it’s the popular thing to do.

    Not only are our products 100% post-consumer waste recycled but we frequently collaborate with green causes such as Evergreen.ca and most recently TeensTurningGreen.org

    Have a great rest of the summer with your kids.

    xo,
    ej

    PS — I Heart Michigan. My brother lives there, and it’s a gorgeous state. I particularly enjoy visiting Cherry filled Traverse City… Yum!

     

Leave a Reply

 
