RSS

What’s in your house? Wednesday

21 Apr

What kind of things do you use? Why? Where do they come from? How are they made? Are they helpful? Hurtful? A waste? I try to bring the best of what I can into my house. It is a transition, from the way I grew up, to how I am raising my children.

So, what’s in my house? Currently too much. But let us gather here each Wednesday and find out what is good in our house and why.

The first item, is a new item that I have and I am loving. I am a bag addict. But not an expensive purse loving person, no. I love reusable grocery bags. At first, I had lots, and I always forgot them. Now, I have lots and I almost always use them. The times I most forget are when I am at work {you know the plastic-bag-giver-away-mega-store…Target}. I have the bags in my van, but sometimes I just don’t plan on buying anything at work, so I don’t bring one in. If I buy something small, I say no bag, thank you very much. Now I have the perfect solution! My chicobag!

I bought this on Saturday at the Family Wisdom Conference. They were selling them as a fundraiser. And I tell ya, I am so happy I did. It is so easy to toss in my lunch bag in case I need it after work.

On the bottom left side of the first picture, you see that it says rePETe. According to their website {www.chicobag.com} that means that the bag is made of 100% recycled PET  {polyethylene terephthalate} which is the main product used in the production of the plastic drinking bottle. That is for the fabric of the bag, but the drawstring and the little clip are also made of recycled material.

The company is located in USA. It does manufacture its bags in China, which to me is a bummer, even if it is apart of the Fair Labor Association.

I love that it fits right in its own little bag and is super easy to stuff back in. They have a whole array of bags. Different styles and different colors.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “What’s in your house? Wednesday

  1. Stephanuie

    April 25, 2010 at 10:31 am

    My favorite thing is my basket of wash clothes (unpaper towels) in my kitchen. I haven’t bought a roll of paper towels since August 09. I have a wicker basket on the corner with folded towels and as they get dirty they are tossed in to a larger wicker backet in the corner of the kitchen. LOVE IT. Some day, when these towels have seen their last days, I want to make some out of birdseye with cute stitching around the edges.

     
  2. aastricker

    April 22, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Love your Chico Bag! Do I have to wait until Wednesday? I think I’m gonna post today.

     

Leave a Reply

 
