RSS

hello little blog!

06 May

I haven’t been gone long. But I needed to take a few days off. Well, I have been on the computer, just not wanting to think or come up with anything to write. As I said, the kids’ Great Grandma passed away on Sunday and we had the funeral on Tuesday. It has been really hard for me. She isn’t my Grandma, it would be my ex’s Grandma, and even though we had split up over 8 years ago, she has still been a big part of our lives. The kids love her dearly, and it has been really hard for them. I keep going over the many times we missed out on seeing her and spending time with her, because we were too busy or something else. I just know it was hard for me because it’s not my family, and I have a hard time trying to be here, there and everywhere with my kids and my own family, that to be in charge of making plans with a family that I am not directly apart of, well it’s really quite difficult. But I am very grateful for the time we have spent. We had spent many days visiting her in the hospital, during the seven weeks she was there. She just will be absolutely and truly missed.

I skipped yesterdays post for What’s In your house? Wednesday. But I have a good one for next week regarding toys! Especially a new toy that made it to our house today, to be opened by a birthday girl on Sunday. Anyways, I thought I would share what I did Monday which also concerns “toys” that we have. We have this one bookcase that holds everyones stuff, mostly art supplies but little things too. And it was in an area that people kinda just used as a catch-all, including myself. Here is a horrible before picture…

see? what mess! papers and things EVERYWHERE!

ahh! Nice and Tidy here! I moved it to another wall. As well as changed up a few things. On the top shelf we now have a spot for all the little Schleich animals we have collected. Colored pencils, pens and regular pencils and a box of notebooks. (Trust me, there are even more notebooks, but I kept it uniform by only putting the composition books in there.

On the second shelf is everyones bucket. I picked these plastic buckets because they fit in nicely, and they are portable. I wanted little baskets, but these work good. They are Isabella’s, Brandon’s, Ashley’s and Mine/Everyone’s. In them, is there personal items such as their own coloring/doodle books and notebooks, little book lights, and whatever little things they use. I think they each have a set of their own crayons, and some other odds and ends. Mine is more like stuff that belongs to everybody.

The bottom shelf holds a basket full of bags, because we have LOTS of bags, also bigger items and everybody’s paint and brushes.

One thing, that I think I will do, is replace the schleich animal spot with a little zen garden. We have lots of rocks and I think the kids would like it. Let’s just hope the cat doesn’t đŸ˜‰

Lastly, a picture of my oldest. I walk her to the bus stop every single morning. Today, I brought my camera. This afternoon, I found out that she made the honor roll. I am so very proud of this beautiful girl!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
